Is A Bc Crumb-Coat 'enough' Under A Fondant Covering?

Decorating By MrsNancyB1 Updated 25 Jun 2009 , 7:58pm by MrsNancyB1

MrsNancyB1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsNancyB1 Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 9:58pm
post #1 of 21

I'm planning to make a cake covered in MMF. Is a crumb-coat of BC enough, or do I need to actually ice the cake in BC? I'm new to this, so it may seem like a silly question. icon_razz.gif

TIA!

20 replies
Minstrelmiss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Minstrelmiss Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 10:05pm
post #2 of 21

I ice almost regular amount because even thought I know that my fondant is tasty, it has a bad rap and many people peel it off. Without a regularish amount of BC, they would hardly have any BC at all!! icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif HTH

bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 10:06pm
post #3 of 21

Hi, I use a bit thicker layer than a crumbcoat! icon_smile.gif

cathie_shinnick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cathie_shinnick Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 10:07pm
post #4 of 21

I just crumb coat, and get it really smooth. I used to do a second coat but had issues with having it be too thick and soft under the fondant . I let the BC dry then right before I apply the fondant I lightly paint the BC with some PS glue(a mixture of ps and water) to make it stick to the bc.

kokopuff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kokopuff Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 10:10pm
post #5 of 21

I just started using mmf too.I find that a thin coating is all you need.Like a crumb coating but don't thin the icicng.Hope this makes since.The first time I tried the mmf I put to much buttercream on my cake and it seemed like my mmf slid around some but I did a carved cake that had layers that stood up and I didn't have it doweled properly.

mclaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mclaren Posted 24 Jun 2009 , 10:11am
post #6 of 21

i want to learn how can we ice as we normally do with BC and not have problems.