What Do You Think The Best Method Would Be?

Decorating By kitty122000 Updated 26 Jun 2009 , 4:13pm by kitty122000

kitty122000 Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 5:25pm
post #1 of 24

I'm pretty new to this and I'm having a lot of fun experimenting with new mediums. Last week I used gumpaste fo rthe first time and I feel I did pretty well with it. In a month my dad has a birthday and I wanted to attempt a "road of life" cake for him. So I've compiled a HUGE list of things I'd like to make into small figures to put on this cake but I'm not sure what the best medium so to speak would be to make these. here's a list of some of the things I'd like to make:
a bicycle, a snare drum, street signs with different names, a boat, a semi and a bunch of other things. what do you think the best thing do use to make these would be? I'm so new to this I'm not even sure I know all of my options. I know gumpaste would be good for some things, but I'm sure what my other options are. help please? I have a month until this will be needed but I'd like to practice and make sure things look great for this cake!

23 replies
snocilla Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 5:40pm
post #2 of 24

Fondant or gumpaste would work good for any of those items. I tend to use a fondant and gumpaste blend (50/50).

kitty122000 Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 5:47pm
post #3 of 24

if I did a 50/50 fondant and gumpaste in green for street signs what would I use to write in white on them?how far in advance can these be done?

snocilla Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 5:54pm
post #4 of 24

I haven't actually done it before, but I would think royal icing or buttercream would be fine. If you want to do it in advance, I would use royal icing. Like I said, I've never actually done it, but that's how I would do it. I would think you can do it at least a week or so in advance.

GL79 Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 7:18pm
post #5 of 24