Help - Timing Issue - Can I Decorate Then Freeze?

Decorating By nelikate Updated 24 Jun 2009 , 1:05am by nelikate

nelikate Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nelikate Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 5:34am
post #1 of 4

Hi,

Sorry if this is in the wrong section. I am a newbie, only decorating seriously since October last year. Anyway I have offered to do my Dad's 60th birthday party cake in August. The only problem is I will be flying back into town at midday for a 7pm dinner party. So I will only have about 4 hours to decorate the cake.

My questions are:
1. can I make and fill and crumb coat the cake 2 weeks in advance and freeze? I will be filling and coating with buttercream or ganache. I will get my sister to defrost the cakes and put them in the fridge the night before.
Then i can ice with butter cream or fondant and decorate on the day.

2. Can I fully decorate with fondant, freeze and defrost the night before? then stack and add the finishing touches on the day?

3. Is there a recommended fondant for freezing?

4. Is buttercream or ganache better for freezing?

any ideas and tips would be appreciated as I think Im way out of my depth on this one.

Nel

3 replies
nelikate Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 12:05pm
post #2 of 4

this is just a quick BUMP

and I noticed no where in my first post did I say Please or Thank you! My mother did teach me manners so I am sorry for this rude oversight.

Please can someone tell me if it is okay to freeze a filled and crumb coated cake and if I should defrost the night before or earlier/later.

And can you freeze a fondant covered cake and defrost the night before or earlier/later.

thank you
Nel

cherrycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cherrycakes Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 5:06pm
post #3 of 4