Some Decorating Questions From A Newbie

Decorating By idoteech Updated 23 Jun 2009 , 2:35am by CakeMommyTX

idoteech Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 2:17am
post #1 of 3

Hi everyone. I've just started baking & decorating some, and I have a couple of questions:

1. First of all, where do you get the large alphabet cutouts that I see many of you use on the bright colored birthday cakes?

2. Where do you get the neat toppers like the stars on the wire, etc.? I can't seem to find them anywhere.

3. I have to do a cake for the first birthdays of two of my little cousins. They are a few days apart so they will have a joint party. I will make them each an individual cake, but do you have any suggestions for a cake that is appropriate for a boy & girl (again, first birthday)?

Thanks so much!

2 replies
KaraBeara Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 2:21am
post #2 of 3

I am a newbie too. You will love it here.

1. You can get the cutters at a craft store. They sell them in the cake decorating section.

2. I have never used them, but from what I have read, you have to make them yourself.

3. Maybe a cute duck cake using yellow and green as the main colors? There are a lot of great ideas in the galleries.

CakeMommyTX Posted 23 Jun 2009 , 2:35am
post #3 of 3

Hello and Welcome to CC!!!

1. The cutters you can buy at your local craft and/or cake supply store.
You can also check the polymer clay aisle at your craft store as well, they have a lot of tools that can be used for fondant.
Also try Global Sugar Art, they have a excellent selection and good prices.

2. The toppers (beads,stars,flower,etc.) on wire are made buy the decorator.
Simply cut the shape out of gumpaste,fondant,a mixture of the two or fondant mixed with tylose powder (all of these dry harder and quicker then fondant), and let them dry until the are hard.