Another Pet Peeve

Lounge By Sugarflowers Updated 7 Sep 2009 , 12:57pm by poohsmomma

Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 5:17pm
post #1 of 109

I'm pretty sure this has been discussed before, but I couldn't find it. Anyway, is the lack of capitalization and punctuation a pet peeve of any one else? It drives me batty! The sentences seem to go on for the longest time with no discernible point. Is it really so hard to type in correct sentences using basic grammar structure?

Sometimes I get messages in other languages that have to be translated and the translator doesn't even know what was written because there are sometimes no spaces between words, no punctuation, etc.

Sorry for the rant. I'm just a little frustrated.

108 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 5:25pm
post #2 of 109

We are avid readers in our house (I'm a speed reader) and I'm a trained adult literacy instructor, so yes, it irritates me also. I honestly cannot understand how anyone manages to NOT know how to read. I know it happens .... I just can't comprehend how.

As someone who has been in the position of reviewing resumes and hiring people, it's amazing to me the lack of basic grammar that I've seen and much of it from college grads.

I believe much is attributable to the texting generation and on-line chats ..... actual "writing" has become a lost art and taken a back seat to technical shorthand.

I had one friend say to me that it's not important that her sons learn to spell because everything can be run thru spell check. I said, "One, I had to trash a thousand forms I had printed at the print shop for my office because spell check didn't notice that I had "doe snot" instead of "does not" in the memo. Two, when your sons are filling out job applications, I doubt the HR secretary will allow them to use her computer to spell check the app for them."