Make Or Buy Fondant?

Business By PinkPetals Updated 21 Jun 2009 , 7:29pm by cdent

PinkPetals Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkPetals Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 4:49pm
post #1 of 13

I'm just getting started in my cake business and am curious if people take the time to make their own fondant or if they pay for it pre-made. I'm assuming it's less expensive to make it yourself (haven't done the math) but it's certainly tedious and hard to get the exact color I'm looking for since you color it BEFORE adding the powedered sugar.

I'm just curious what the majority of cake bakers out there do, and whether or not they feel if there is a cost advantage to one over the other.

12 replies
karilove Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karilove Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 4:58pm
post #2 of 13

I just got started too, but i find the homemade fondant is much better than the store bought one.

Misdawn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Misdawn Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 5:01pm
post #3 of 13

I bought the Wilton fondant once when I firdt tried using fondant. Since then, I have always made my own (MMF). I have figured it up that I can make one batch at $5.50. Now it's probably actually cheaper than that because I included a bottle of color and a bottle of flavoring in my estimate.

cdent Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cdent Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 5:02pm
post #4 of 13

I personally make mine. It tastes better because you can add whatever extract you choose and it is way cheaper! Where I live, Wilton's 5lb box is $20, to make your own 5lbs of MMF, it is around $7-$8 if not less. I have the whole making process down to about 30min so it's not too bad, plus it's nice to be able to add the color when it's still liquefied instead of kneading it in pre-made fondant...that's a time saver in and of itself (even if you just get the base color before you add powdered sugar and then add color to it later to match it to what you need.)

in2cakes2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile