Silk Flowers On A Cake....tacky?

Decorating By montanamommy Updated 12 Jul 2013 , 11:28pm by AZCouture

montanamommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
montanamommy Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 4:52am
post #1 of 18

Since I'm brand new to cake decorating and have not learned the ways of gum paste, I was wondering what the general consensus on silk flowers on a cake is. Is it tacky? Are fresh flowers a better bet?

Thanks,
Andrea

17 replies
matthewkyrankelly Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
matthewkyrankelly Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 5:01am
post #2 of 18

Whatever the customer wants. That said, good silk is better than bad gumpaste or dead real. Whatever works for all involved.

OfficerMorgan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OfficerMorgan Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 5:07am
post #3 of 18

I would say on dummies only for photo purposes only. On a real wedding cake-yes it's tacky. It reminds me of old people who plant fake flowers in their gardens.

And I don't think you want to be remembered as the lady with the fake flowers, either.

xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 5:19am
post #4 of 18

I think it depends on the quality of the silk flower. Some silk flowers look like the real thing and look great on cakes plus you don't have to worry about toxic flowers, allergies or pesticides that are used on flowers either. Personally I like gp flowers the best but it all comes down to what the customer wants and what your able to do. If you do use real flowers just make sure you now which ones are non-toxic, find out if they are organically grown to avoid any pesticide issues.
Here's a list of non-toxic flowers:
http://www.cakecentral.com/article18-List-of-Non-Toxic-Flowers-for-Garnishing-your-Cake.html

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 5:32am
post #5 of 18