Boxed Cake Mix Vs. Cake Batter Made From Scratch

Decorating By KakesbyKerri Updated 25 Jun 2009 , 4:34am by jules5000

KakesbyKerri Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KakesbyKerri Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 1:16am
post #1 of 22

So, I am completely new to the cake decorating world. Actually, I have been "practicing" for a year, but the last 4 weekends, I have had at least 4 cakes to do each weekend. Im starting to be convinced that my work is possibly better than what I give myself credit for (please don't judge on the cakes I have posted....I haven't posted any in months)

Anyway, I currently use just boxed cake batter from a grocery store, but Im starting to feel like a schmuck for doing it. I am honest that it is boxed cake so praise Pillsbury for the taste and not me. I feel like I should switch to cake batter from scratch. What are your thoughts on this? Is it normal in the beginning to use boxed cake mixes?

I like for the cakes that I make for people to be super moist so is there a recipe that you can recommend that will come out moist? Don't worry about hurt feelings, please be honest. I will take all the advice and help I can get!!

21 replies
Minstrelmiss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Minstrelmiss Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 1:26am
post #2 of 22

Get ready to be rained on!!

Use what you like best.

Whether it is a mix, doctored mix, or scratch...it's all good and ALL UP TO YOU! Do some taste testing, see what family and the neighbors prefer. Check out the Gourmet Flavors thread...try scratch recipes, try WASC, and Durable Duncan Hines (my favorite icon_biggrin.gif )

HTH and good luck!!

phoufer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
phoufer Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 1:28am
post #3 of 22

Scratch vs. cake mix is a personal choice I think. There are so many doctored cake mix recipes that are awesome. Try the WASC you can search in recipe section. You can do many variations on this cake and it is moist and for me always a customer favorite. HTH