About To Buy My First Mixer...help!(Kinda Long.sorry!)

Decorating By annieluz Updated 22 Jun 2009 , 8:41pm by mandysue

annieluz Posted 20 Jun 2009 , 5:12am
post #1 of 11

Ok, so although I have been baking (as a hobby) for about 5 years, and recently decided to try and start this as a business, I have NEVER owned or USED a Stand Mixer... not even a hand mixer... I always did it manually. I didn't really mind before because I wasn't baking often enough to really want one, but for the past few months or so I have been baking like crazy! I have been dying to go out and buy a stand mixer since things have been picking up and as you all can imagine, my forearms are beginning to look like Popeyes (LOL) from all the mixing. icon_razz.gif

The only reason why I haven't been able to get one is because money is tight and I want a KA (don't we all!! icon_wink.gif ), I have always figured it is best to just go with a quality product rather than go the cheap route. I rather just go with what I know is good and not go through the hassle of wasting money on something that isnt a good product...

Well, my husband isn't into the notion that I want to decorate professionally (he says I should continue in banking and stop wasting my time... ughhh HATE IT!!!) so there is no way he'd allow an investment like that right now... especially since we just had a baby and bought a house all within the last year and we are still trying to adjust...

ANYWAYS, I have a giftcard from Macys that I have been holding on to for a few months and I have been saving some cash from some of my previous cakes so I have around $125 in total that I can use for a mixer right now.. I know they are having a BIG sale tomorrow @ Macys (Stand mixers are 33% off)... seems like a great deal and I am SOOO tempted to just run over there and buy whatever I can get for $125... I think I saw on the site a sunbeam and a cuisineart...