Sugarcraft/gumpaste

Decorating By indulge Updated 22 Jun 2009 , 12:47am by ceshell

indulge Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indulge Posted 19 Jun 2009 , 4:55am
post #1 of 8

Hi

I'm new to sugarcraft art. Lately am trying to do modelling figurine
I wanted to do the hair by using sugarcraft gun which i cant get in my country here. The distributor said that it is out of stock from the supplier. Could anyone tell me what tools to use for the figurine hair?

Any recommendation and where can i purchase the sugarcraft gun clay press?

Thanks
indulge

7 replies
peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 12:32pm
post #2 of 8

well, for hair you can use a garlic press.

And just for future reference if you put a space between sugar and craft it shouldn't end up being blocked.

Bossy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bossy Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 12:53pm
post #3 of 8

Until you get you ne tool, I've had good luck cutting a rectangle the width of the part of the head you are going to lay it on and the legth you want the hiar. Then using a cutting blade, cut the little hairs down the legth, but not quite all the way to one edge. then twist the little hairs for curls or pull slightly for straight hair. I use a pallet knife to pick up the entire rectangle and lay uncut edge the opposite direction on the head than you want it to lay. Then using a tooth pic to hod down the uncut edge, flip the hair over so it folds over the uncut edge and lay it down however you want the style to lay. Makes a perfect part or hair line this way. I always add some individual hairs to give depth and movement. I hope this makes sense! I actually find this method easier than trying to place the little hairs from the clay gun. I'm sure some of the more experienced CCr's have some great ideas.

Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 5:48pm
post #4 of 8

I've used a garlic press for grass and hair.