Decorating By jovigirl Updated 20 Jun 2009 , 11:31pm by jovigirl

jovigirl Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 8:46pm
post #1 of 11

Hi everyone,

I will be making a transformers cake for this weekend & thought it would be cool to have flames on the side of the cake. I will be making an 11 x 15 sheet cake. I've never done flames before. Does anyone know how I can make these or maybe know of a tutorial or something I can go by?

Thanks for your help ;o)

10 replies
idjitmom Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 9:02pm
post #2 of 11

You didn't say what you wanted to make them out of? Assuming fondant, here is what I did - I printed out a patter, & had that in front of me to use for a guide then just cut freehand. It took a couple of tries before I was satisfied, but all-in-all, just about 10 minutes before I had what I wanted.

merriel Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 9:07pm
post #3 of 11

I recently made a cake with the sun as the bottom layer and made flames out of fondant. I used the leaf-shaped fondant cutter for the flames and for the coloring of the fondant I made all the fondant yellow and then lightly mixed in some orange for a marbly "flame" effect. For my cake the flames were laying flat and perpendicular to the cake but you could certainly stand them up and stick them to the sides. I overlapped them a bit too. Oh - and when drying them I let them dry with the top third or so hanging over the bottom of an upside down cake pan to get a 3D curve effect too.

CakeMommy3 Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 9:22pm
post #4 of 11

I made flames coming out of the back of a space ship, and I used color flow. My husband drew the flames, and I outlined it with orange, then flowed in in with yellow in the middle, and orange around that, then took a toothpick and swirled them together. It looked aweome. It's the space cake in my pics, but I don't know if you can see it that well. You could make a few of those an attach them to the sides of the cake.

kakeladi Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 10:03pm
post #5 of 11