Need Help Fast!!

Decorating By AngelEyes26 Updated 17 Jun 2009 , 4:14am by Misdawn

AngelEyes26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngelEyes26 Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 3:28am
post #1 of 20

I need to know ASAP, what to do....
I am very new to cake decorating. I have been hounding my local supply store with questions and feel terrible. Now I MUST finish a practice cake I am makign fo rmy best friends wedding, I am on a very tight schedule and the cake must be baked by tomorrow!!! I am using DeeDee Wilson's wedding cake book, and she is very specific and detailed which is why I am comfortable using it, this will be the second cake I am trying and it HAS to be the cake.. the first I got online. NOW, my question is,, she uses 2' depth pans for ALL of her recipes, I have 3" depth, and I really cannot afford to buy more, I am already lugging them on an aircraft as it is, one is my limit, how do I bake it if I really want 4 layers, two cut in half. DO I half her recipe for Two 6" rounds, and bake it in my pan twice??? I fell there is a simple explanation, I jsut do not have it????

SERISOULY confused!!!!!

Thanks for any help!!!

19 replies
Misdawn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Misdawn Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 3:33am
post #2 of 20

You've confused me! So you want a 6" round cake that has four one-inch thick layers, right?

MLand Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MLand Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 3:34am
post #3 of 20

I would do the two cut in half.

chefjess819 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefjess819 Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 3:35am
post #4 of 20

ok..trying to do some math in my head here....lets see...if you triple her recipe (if at all possible), this should give you 3 layers when using your 3" cake pan. so you could doouble the recipe twice to make it easier on the mixer (lol) and end up with 4 layers and a few cupcakes...hehe. hope this helps somewhat.... icon_smile.gif

Misdawn Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 3:35am
post #5 of 20