How Would You Go About This?

Business By mouse13 Updated 17 Jun 2009 , 7:30pm by mouse13

mouse13 Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 3:04am
post #1 of 9

I am just starting out, and I want to get my cake out there. I am thinking of having a "open house" cake tasting night. Do any of you wonderful cakers out there have any idea of doing this? Or is this just a really bad idea? I kinda want to just invite like realities and friends so they can get the word out. This is a really stupid idea huh?

8 replies
mouse13 Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 3:37am
post #2 of 9

No thoughts on this?

messy_chef Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 5:27am
post #3 of 9

There was a thread on this idea a few months ago if you can figure out how to search for such a thing. I've always thought it would be a neat idea. Maybe before the event, let people know that they will have an opportunity to get on your books first? Or have a raffle for a cake (so you can get back some of your costs)?

sheena Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 5:48am
post #4 of 9

If you belong to any club, you could make a cake and have them raffle it at one of the club get togethers/functions. This is one way for many people to see your work.

lildragon Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 5:53am
post #5 of 9

I think it's a great idea. I think the original thread was titled "Friday Night Cake Club" or something like along those lines. Having a party to get you and your cakes noticed, and to get some valuable feedback is NOT a stupid idea.

Texas_Rose Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 6:12am
post #6 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by lildragon

I think it's a great idea. I think the original thread was titled "Friday Night Cake Club" or something like along those lines. Having a party to get you and your cakes noticed, and to get some valuable feedback is NOT a stupid idea.

The "Friday Night Cake Club" threads which you'll see every Friday, are where the people who are staying up late baking their cakes for Saturday post to keep each other company icon_biggrin.gif