New To Cc!

Decorating By percussiongrrl Updated 17 Jun 2009 , 2:09am by percussiongrrl

percussiongrrl Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 12:12am
post #1 of 7

I'm new to CC, but I've already found a lot of great tips and tricks here! I'm really excited to learn more and try new things.

I have a couple questions, as I'm trying to get better at this whole cake decorating thing!

I've posted pictures of a few cakes that I've done. Here is my first question: I feel like my buttercream never gets smooth when I ice the cake. I was told to ice the cake and smooth it as much as possible with my spatula and then allow it 15-20 minutes to crust over and then roll it with a fondant roller. Sometimes it seems to make it worse and it never gets as smooth as I'd like. I use the Wilton Buttercream recipe, if that makes a difference!

Second question: I've done some MMF decorations and accents, but I've been wanting to do a cake totally covered in MMF. I see a lot of talk about Rolled Buttercream on here. I hate the taste of MMF, so that idea appeals to me a little more. What do you all recommend for a first try at a totally covered cake?

I think this is going to be the start of a severe addiction to this place!

Thanks in advance!

6 replies
JenWhitlock Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 12:43am
post #2 of 7

you will love it here, and you WILL get addicted!
I'm sure other's will chime in here, but SugarShack's (Sharon) DVD on buttercream is awesome.
apart from what you've already read, I would used a scraper or spatula larger than the height of the cake. make sure you are *way* loaded up with icing so that you scrape it away, scrapping the entire side top to bottom, if you have to go back you will likely get tool marks.
the biggest tip: practice, practice, practice and - no kidding - practice.
I use a merigue BC and fondant, never tried rolled BC so no help there.

happy baking! icon_biggrin.gif

kbgieger Posted 17 Jun 2009 , 12:45am
post #3 of 7

Welcome to your new addiction!! icon_biggrin.gif