Making A Cake Start To End, How Long?

Decorating By kamikaze_fish Updated 16 Jun 2009 , 8:21pm by beachcakes

kamikaze_fish Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 9:19pm
post #1 of 12

Ok, let's assume you have all your ingredients, and the ideal kitchen, and are making your own fondant, your own buttercream, and your own cake. What is your process? I know there's variations between people, and I'm wanting to try to find one that fits me best. What do you make, when do you make it, how long do you let it sit, do you refridgerate it, etc. Do you do decorations while waiting on anything? Like making flowers while waiting for the cake to be cooled enough to come out of the pan? Etc.

11 replies
kimblyd Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 9:27pm
post #2 of 12

I am a hobbyist with a full-time job and it takes me FOR-EV-ER.

I have to do bits and pieces whenever I get a chance, usually on the weekend. I make and freeze my cakes and icing at least two weeks in advance and start working on my candy clay decorations as soon as I know what I need.

I would like to hear what others have to say....

andiesweet Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 9:28pm
post #3 of 12

ok I'll jump in here... When I do a wedding cake I give myself plenty of time. i usually bake 3 or 4 days out, wrap the layers in saran. the next day i make any filling, icing and fondant i will need. Day 3 i fill and crumb coat my tiers. The night before the wedding i ice or cover the tiers with fondant. Day of wedding i assemble and put on final decorations. I do all of my work after i get out of my regualr 9-6 job at another bakery. And they use pretty much the same system. Cakes stay good for awhile, and if you think they are getting dry, brush some simple syrup on them when you fill them, it will help.
The brides still think I was up all night working on thier cake... what they don't know won't hurt them. : )

Win Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 9:32pm
post #4 of 12

First, welcome... you seem relatively new to CC, this is a fun place to learn!