High Ratio Shortening Question

Decorating By lrlt2000 Updated 20 Jun 2009 , 2:11am by __Jamie__

lrlt2000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lrlt2000 Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 9:11pm
post #1 of 13

I cannot find this anywhere, and I know I can order it online. But I was wondering if there is any way to make regular Crisco perform the same way. Can I use heavy whipping cream as my liquid and add meringue powder to get the same smooth texture and better stability that high ratio is known for?

Is it worth it? Or should I just wait for my online order of h.r.!?

12 replies
charliecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
charliecakes Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 1:46pm
post #2 of 13

lrlt2000. I'm a newbie to this forum but i've decorated cakes for the past 10 years now. for the past 8 years i used nothing but crisco. Then i noticed they changed recipe to no trans fat. It seemed to throw my recipe off. I now use the CK brand hi ration shortening. Trust me when i say you will not believe the difference. Your icing will come out so much better. Creamier, no greasy after taste. Just so much better. It is worth the wait

lrlt2000 Posted 16 Jun 2009 , 3:10pm
post #3 of 13

Thank you! I'm getting nervous! It just shipped yesterday and I am not sure how long it will take. The wedding cake is due Saturday evening and I need it completely done by Friday night. I guess I could get my fondant details made, my cakes baked/torted/filled. . . I was hoping to get all of my batches of icing made today or tomorrow, but I guess I'll have to wait until tomorrow night or Thursday!!!!!

YIKES! icon_cry.gif

charliecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
charliecakes Posted 18 Jun 2009 , 11:31pm
post #4 of 13

If you get all your other work done like baking the cakes and your fondant figures you should be fine. Also, I do still use heavy cream as my liquid with the hi ratio shortening. Good luck

lrlt2000 Posted 18 Jun 2009 , 11:57pm
post #5 of 13