Expert Opinions On Possible Hobart Purchse

Business By Loucinda Updated 15 Jun 2009 , 4:29pm by Loucinda

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 5:34pm
post #1 of 16

I have the option of buying a Hobart 20 qt. mixer right now. Right now I do about 2 weddings a month - so I don't have the volume to justify it BUT I am hoping my business will grow and in a year or 2 I WILL have the need for it.

My question is - should I go ahead and get it now (great deal) or wait until I really need it?

I am a home based baker here - but I have a 27x15 kitchen so room is not an issue. (AND my business is a legal one - no flying under the radar)

15 replies
all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 5:48pm
post #2 of 16

If it's a great deal and you have the funds to spare, by all means, get it! Use a smaller one until the use of the larger one is needed. At least you'll have it and have gotten a great deal on it too. Should you decide later that this isn't something you wish to pursue further, the mixer can surely be sold.

Loucinda Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 5:59pm
post #3 of 16

Thanks Allforcake - I just edited my post to add that my business is also legal, just in case anyone had a issue with my "home based" statement. We added on and remodeld my kitchen to make it so I could do my cake business out of it.

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 6:01pm
post #4 of 16

I bought a 20 quart a couple of years ago, at an auction. I paid $225 for it. I use it more to make dough than I do cake, but heck, it beats kneading 20 pounds of bread or pierogie dough by hand!

Definitely get it, while the price is right. Make sure it works, the wiring is good, all the parts are there, and that all 4 bolts that hold the head onto the stand are there. I was missing 2, and they were a bite to replace.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

Loucinda Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 6:18pm
post #5 of 16