9 Hours Later....tell Me What You Think Please!

Decorating By patticakesnc Updated 14 Jun 2009 , 7:29pm by playingwithsugar

patticakesnc Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 7:35am
post #1 of 19

Ok, yes I am fishing for compliments I guess. Everyone is asleep and I just finished this cake. Took me 9 hours with baking and all. Is for my daughters graduation party tomorrow.

This is my first 3 tier stacked cake, first mixed shape cake, and first zebra stripes.

So what do ya think! I think I like it although I can see many many many flaws, but overall I am happy.
LL

18 replies
en-passant Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 7:40am
post #2 of 19

Cute design, the colors are nice (love the zebra stripes) and the shapes workwell together, but the flowers are way to large and there are too many of them.

I'm sure your daughter will be thrilled! I would have loved a cake like that when I graduated.

umgrzfn Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 7:42am
post #3 of 19

Not everyone is sleeping! icon_biggrin.gif OMG...are those stargazer lilies or whatever they are called????!!!!!!!! If so, can you give me some guidence on them? The cake is BEAUTIFUL!! I couldn't find much in my books or on youtube so I just used my tulip petal cutter, ruffled the edges, made gumpaste balls and flattened them a bit to make forms and glued them together. Now, I'm just waiting for them to dry!! Again, the cake is GREAT!! Fab job!!!!!

Madiken Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 7:45am
post #4 of 19

It's beautiful! I'm sure she will LOVE it!!

patticakesnc Posted 14 Jun 2009 , 7:50am
post #5 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by en-passant

Cute design, the colors are nice (love the zebra stripes) and the shapes workwell together, but the flowers are way to large and there are too many of them.

I'm sure your daughter will be thrilled! I would have loved a cake like that when I graduated.