I'm New At This... Help?

Decorating By starryskyhearts Updated 13 Jun 2009 , 11:09pm by Deb_

starryskyhearts Posted 13 Jun 2009 , 8:30am
post #1 of 21

I'm sorry if I posted this in the wrong area, but:
Alright, let me start off by talking about me. I'm Britanny, and I'm turning 17 on June 20th. I have a 7 week old son, so I've been home a lot recently. My favorite channel (during the day) is the Food Network. My favorite show, wouldn't you guess, is Ace of Cakes. It was watching this show that I realized I wanted to be a cake decorator.
So, I invested a little over $100 so far to get supplies.
Now the only problem is... I have no idea what I'm doing. Watching videos online and all that jazz is helping a lot, but I think I would benefit a lot more from hands-on help from someone who knows what they're doing. So, my main question here is: Is there anyone in the Northshore Massachusetts area who can tutor me?
Or, Does anyone know of a bakery where I can work to learn the basics?.

If not, then that's fine. Any links to videos that can help me are appreciated also.
Well, thanks for reading this, and for any further help. I hope to make some good friends (or at least cake-buddies) here.

~Britanny=]]

20 replies
Rylan Posted 13 Jun 2009 , 9:21am
post #2 of 21

Hi Britanny, welcome to CC

Look for tutorials on youtube, that what first got me started.

Texas_Rose Posted 13 Jun 2009 , 9:34am
post #3 of 21

Why don't you take the Wilton classes? They're not expensive, you've probably already got the supplies you need for it, and they're a great way to learn the basics.

starryskyhearts Posted 13 Jun 2009 , 9:44am
post #4 of 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas_Rose

Why don't you take the Wilton classes? They're not expensive, you've probably already got the supplies you need for it, and they're a great way to learn the basics.