Scratch Bakers-Adjusting A Recipe

Baking By Lenette Updated 17 Jun 2009 , 6:14am by sheena

Lenette Posted 12 Jun 2009 , 3:43am
post #1 of 7

I need to make white chocolate cake, again. I have problems and I am an experienced baker. The one in Dede Wilson's book always sinks in the middle. RLB Cake Bible recipe is good but her recipes are so ticky. Last time the darn thing over flowed the pan and then 1 layer fell apart when I unmolded it.

Anywhoo, I would like to adjust my vanilla cake. So I add the melted white chocolate, definitely need to reduce the sugar and I'm thinking the butter too. It calls for 8 oz butter and 2 cups sugar. Any suggestion on a starting point for these alterations?

I am guessing (majorly) on reducing sugar by 1/2 cup but no clue on the butter. I appreciate any suggestions on this or if you have a TNT recipe that's great too!

TIA for any help! icon_smile.gif

6 replies
hollylikescake Posted 12 Jun 2009 , 3:48am
post #2 of 7

I would love to hear an answer to this question too.

Bunsen Posted 12 Jun 2009 , 4:12am
post #3 of 7

Adding white chocolate is much harder than dark as it is sooo sweet it really upsets the balance of flavour!

White chocolate is approximately 1/3 cocoa butter and 2/3 sugar so for every 3oz of choc you add remove 1 oz butter and 2 oz sugar. You might find the batter is firmer - add a splash of milk to loosen it up.

I have a great recipe for a scratch white choc mud cake - if you are looking for a firmer cake baked in a deep pan - happy to pass it on , just let me know icon_smile.gif

princesscris Posted 12 Jun 2009 , 4:15am
post #4 of 7

Hi Lenette

In theory, it can be done, but there are a lot of variables to take into account and you may need to tweak the recipe a bit to get the results you want.