Half Vanilla/ Half Choc Sheet Cake?

Decorating By FairyPoppins Updated 12 Jun 2009 , 1:55am by FairyPoppins

FairyPoppins Posted 11 Jun 2009 , 8:55pm
post #1 of 6

One of my husband's co workers emailed me today for a baby shower cake for 40 people next week. She's hasn't chosen a final design yet but she's asked for half vanilla and half chocolate.

If she decides on a tiered cake it won't be a problem but if she chooses a sheet cake I'm not sure how to do it. It will be a 2 layer cake so should I fill up one half of the pan with vanilla batter and the other half with chocolate and the middle where the batters meet will be marble?

I've never done this before so I'm not sure whether to tell her she can only have 2 flavors on tiered cakes but sheet cakes can be either choc cake with vanilla BC or vanilla cake with choc BC.

Any advice? Thanks icon_smile.gif

5 replies
indydebi Posted 11 Jun 2009 , 9:33pm
post #2 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by FairyPoppins

If she decides on a tiered cake it won't be a problem but if she chooses a sheet cake I'm not sure how to do it. It will be a 2 layer cake so should I fill up one half of the pan with vanilla batter and the other half with chocolate and the middle where the batters meet will be marble?

Yes. When you pour in the first batter, just elevate one end of the pan (use an upside down saucer, a rolled up towel, a big spoon handle, etc). When you pour in the 2nd batter, lower the pan and pour. When the batters meet in the middle, they will stop each other (like lava. It's not Kool-Aid, it won't blend). Don't worry if it's not exactly half-n-half. no one notices and no one cares. they fight over the middle.

An 11x15 will serve 35. A 12x18 will serve 54. If you use a 12x18, I always use 2 white and 1 choc mix. Choc rises higher and spreads further, so by the time it's all baked, it's about 1/2-n-1/2.