Basic Advice About Large Cakes

Decorating By kcziggy Updated 11 Jun 2009 , 11:31am by beachcakes

kcziggy Posted 11 Jun 2009 , 12:25am
post #1 of 4

I am quite new to cake decorating and am comfortable with 9" rounds, but I'm baking a large cake for the first time for my daughter's baptism in a couple weeks and could sure use some advice form the experts.

I am planning to make a 2-layer, one chocolate and one yellow, raspberry filled, french bc frosted and using italian meriengue bc to decorate.

1. Is a 16" round or sheet cake better/easier for a two layer and should I follow the cake mix chart fo a 2" layer?

2. Do I need a heating core or baking strips for either?

3 What goes on top, yellow, chocolate or doesn't matter?

4. Are the Wilton pans good quality?

Any other tips you may have will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you and happy caking!

3 replies
ptanyer Posted 11 Jun 2009 , 1:02am
post #2 of 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcziggy

I am quite new to cake decorating and am comfortable with 9" rounds, but I'm baking a large cake for the first time for my daughter's baptism in a couple weeks and could sure use some advice form the experts.

I am planning to make a 2-layer, one chocolate and one yellow, raspberry filled, french bc frosted and using italian meriengue bc to decorate.

1. Is a 16" round or sheet cake better/easier for a two layer and should I follow the cake mix chart fo a 2" layer?

2. Do I need a heating core or baking strips for either?

3 What goes on top, yellow, chocolate or doesn't matter?

4. Are the Wilton pans good quality?

Any other tips you may have will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you and happy caking!

So is this a one-tier cake, with two layers, one layer is chocolate and one layer is yellow? The order of the layers doesn't matter, that is a personal choice.

HOWEVER, it sounds like you are making a 2-tier cake, one tier being chocolate with one filling and one tier being yellow with it's own filling.