Help! Gluten, Dairy, Soy And Sugar Free. Yikes

Baking By amyfruity Updated 11 Jun 2009 , 9:07pm by AbouttheCake

amyfruity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amyfruity Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 4:16pm
post #1 of 12

Good morning,

I'm pretty new to this whole cake thing. I have a friend that has to stay away from gluten, dairy, soy and sugar. I searched for recipes and found the Gluten, Free, Celiac Safe white cake.....but it has sugar in it. Does anyone have a recipe that eliminates all of these things? Is it possible? Would it taste good? Haha! Also....if there is a recipe....what would I cover the cake in that doesn't contain sugar? HELP! I want my friend to be able to celebrate her birthday with a cake.

Thanks,
Amy icon_biggrin.gif

11 replies
woodruffbn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
woodruffbn Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 5:38pm
post #2 of 12

Couldnt you just use that recipe you found and substitute splenda or some other non-sugar sweetener? IDK if that would change the consistancy of the cake though.... I would try it and see how it came out before I did her cake for sure.

jonahsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jonahsmom Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 5:43pm
post #3 of 12

I've used splenda in place of sugar for gfcf foods before. It alters the taste a little, but generally bakes pretty close to the same.

Jayde Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jayde Posted 10 Jun 2009 , 12:42am
post #4 of 12

You dont think she would be interested in a different dessert other than a <cough> nasty <cough> GF cake?? I have to eat GF, but when you put GF and sugar free and dairy free and soy free all together, the end result is kinda gross. (No offense intended to all of you GF bakers out there, but ew, just ew.)

We can come up with something else, I know we can! I have a Fabulous Flourless Chocolate torte recipe that is light on the sugar. Very chocolaty, very dense, very scrumptious.