Help With Gluten, Dairy, Soy And Sugar Free Recipe! Yikes!

Baking By amyfruity Updated 15 Jun 2009 , 7:15am by JanH

amyfruity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amyfruity Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 2:06pm
post #1 of 4

Good morning,

I'm pretty new to this whole cake thing. I have a friend that has to stay away from gluten, dairy, soy and sugar. I searched for recipes and found the Gluten, Free, Celiac Safe white cake.....but it has sugar in it. Does anyone have a recipe that eliminates all of these things? Is it possible? Would it taste good? Haha! Also....if there is a recipe....what would I cover the cake in that doesn't contain sugar? HELP! I want my friend to be able to celebrate her birthday with a cake.

Thanks,
Amy icon_biggrin.gif

3 replies
amyfruity Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
amyfruity Posted 9 Jun 2009 , 4:13pm
post #2 of 4

I just realized I posted this in the wrong forum.....

kathy172 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kathy172 Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 6:56am
post #3 of 4

Hi,

I am going to throw out some ideas for subbing out the sugar, but since you didn't say why she is avoiding the sugar, or which type of sugar, I'm not sure I can help too much. I did make a cake that was gluten, dairy, egg, soy, corn, and cane sugar free, but it was trial and error and done several years ago so I don't have a recipe. sorry. Here's some ideas though:

for sugar subs- maple sugar (looks like brown sugar or raw sugar)
brown rice syrup (comes in a jar and is thick like molassas)
Stevia- very sweet, slight aftertaste, natural plant based sub.
honey
maple syrup

Many of these subs. can be found at Whole Foods markets, and sometimes in a Diabetic section of a regular market. Also- www.allergygrocer.com is a wonderful online retailer that carries many different flours, mixes and also has recipes. You might check there.