Terrible Question...has Anyone How Much They Make Per Hour?

Decorating By Bellatheball Updated 8 Jun 2009 , 6:26pm by mixinvixen

Bellatheball Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bellatheball Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:15pm
post #1 of 3

For those of you who make your living on cakes, do you make sure you get paid so much per hour of your time? I know a lot of variables go into pricing a cake (and I don't pretend to understand all of them) but I've never heard this one mentioned. If you do...and if it's not too intrusive...how much do you make per hour?

At this point I mostly make cakes for family and friends but more "outsiders" are asking me to do them. It just seems like a fair price for a cake leaves me with very little money for my time.

2 replies
ashleyandlee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ashleyandlee Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 6:23pm
post #2 of 3

I have been making cakes for friends and family for a few years now, and almost never make any profit off of them. Nobody wants to pay what I'd need to charge in order to make a profit, for a cake that they can get at the grocery store for $30 (I'd probably charge double or triple!)

I've decided to stick to wedding cakes from now on. Those are the ones I really make a profit at since most people are expecting to pay at least $200 for a wedding cake. I have four to do this summer and I charged between $190-$365 for all of them - none of the brides blinked an eye at the price - whereas when I quote $70 for a kids birthday cake, I don't usually get a call back. icon_wink.gif

What I do is charge a base price depending on how many people will be at the wedding (and whether or not the cake is being served as the dessert). It's usually around $100-$150 (most weddings in my tiny town are small). Then I charge $15 per layer, which just covers the ingredients and a little more. So, since I spend about 10 hours on a wedding cake, I make roughly $12/hr (going off the "base price").