Happy Cake Stories???

Business By Mylittleflutterby Updated 31 Jul 2009 , 4:24am by Texas_Rose

Mylittleflutterby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mylittleflutterby Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 3:42pm
post #1 of 14

I have noticed a lot of Bridezilla stories lately and I know these encounters are a minority, but as a person just starting out and hoping to get into wedding and more elaborate cakes in the future I thought maybe some of you would like to or be willing to share some happy cake stories so all of us newbies aren't too scared off lol

Thanks!

13 replies
mdonna01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mdonna01 Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 3:57pm
post #2 of 14

I'm a newbie too. I have one Bridzilla story, and one great story.

The very first wedding cake I made was for my little sister's wedding in March. She and her husband paid for the whole thing themselves and I knew they didn't have much money, so I volunteered to make the cake. I had to travel 5 hours to where they were having the wedding, so I didn't want to make the cake and travel with it. The grooms mother offered me her kitchen so that is where I made the cake. My sister kept me company and helped me a little bit. I baked the cakes the night before the wedding and I also made the RKT (which I used for 2 of the layers). Then the next day while everyone was busy setting up for the reception I rounded up a couple of family members and we carried the cake over to the place the reception was being held. I assembled the cake onsight and when the bride came in and saw it, I thought she was going to cry. She said it was the best cake that anyone could ever ask for. It all went so smoothly. It was awesome.

There now, I hope that gets you motivated. It was so much fun making her cake. (the picture of that cake is in my file, it's the white and black 4 tiered cake with silk flowers)

jillmakescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillmakescakes Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 4:03pm
post #3 of 14