Help Please!!

Decorating By Monelove Updated 8 Jun 2009 , 2:34pm by brincess_b

Monelove Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Monelove Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 2:20am
post #1 of 11

I know this question has been covered under the "business" section and there is even an excel spreadsheet to help figure out what to charge for cakes, but I don't have excel and am not able to view either.

A friend is getting married in Oct. of this year and wants me to make her cake. She is inviting 170 people, she wants a four-tier buttercreme cake with roses in between each layer and her budget is only $150.

I am still REALLY new to cake decorating and this will be my first wedding cake to make and hopefully make a bit of profit off. I am not yet licensed so is it ridiculous for me to tell her that I cannot make her cake for less than $300.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Monica

10 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 2:30am
post #2 of 11

First, welcome to Cake Central! We're glad to have you!

Now for the question at hand, $150 for 170 people is insane. That's less than a $1.00 a slice. I doubt that $150 would even cover all of your expenses (supplies, electricity, water, etc), let alone the time that it takes you to make and decorate it!

Just my opinion. Now if you want to take the $150 and do the rest for her because it's your friend and maybe that's your present to her or something, maybe that could work for you.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 8 Jun 2009 , 2:34am
post #3 of 11

Is she providing the roses? What kind of supports are you going to use...if you've got to buy pillars and separator plates for all of it, plus ingredients, plus pans...assuming you don't have them yet...$150 sounds more like the cost of your supplies and ingredients than what she should be paying...and if she's expecting you to provide the roses, that's going to be even more.