Trying To Design And Make My Own Wedding Cake

Decorating By tcotnam Updated 7 Jun 2009 , 11:20am by grama_j

tcotnam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcotnam Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 6:07am
post #1 of 7

I am very new at cake decorating, but I am going to try and make my own wedding cake next year (march 2010). We are having a very simply beach theme wedding (live in savannah and we are all about flip flops, jimmy buffett, & simplicity) and I have sooo many ideas running through my head for our cake. We are on a super super tight budget since I am in my last year of college and just started working part time (at minimum wage). I have been reading about the wedding cake design software and I do not think that it will help me at all with a non-traditional wedding cake. I am wondering, What is the best way to try out my ideas ??? I am not very computer savvy and horrible at drawing plus, I need more of a 3D view. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

6 replies
bakingatthebeach Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakingatthebeach Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 6:18am
post #2 of 7

You can do a simple tiered cake and make some shells. I did one for a birthday cake (in my pics) and it was quick and the shells are super easy to make. I find you can do just about anything you want to when designing your cake. I usually do sketches to help me.
And you can also practice with just a single cake to get an idea of what you want.

PatricesPieces Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PatricesPieces Posted 7 Jun 2009 , 6:27am
post #3 of 7