Need Help With Bottle Cake

Decorating By daisyjenn Updated 8 Jun 2009 , 5:47pm by Bellatheball

daisyjenn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
daisyjenn Posted 5 Jun 2009 , 2:56am
post #1 of 13

My husbands birthday is coming up and his favorite drink is Jack Daniels and Coke. I have seen some pics on here of both items. I am still pretty new at cake decorating. I think I can carve them with no problem. I have an old bottle to use as a model. I am not too sure if I should cover in fondant though. I would like to make the bottle look as real as I can. I will be using an edible image for the label on the bottle and for the Coke can. Any help would be great. His birthday is a month away for I have time. Thanks!! usaribbon.gif

12 replies
Lee15 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lee15 Posted 5 Jun 2009 , 12:13pm
post #2 of 13

I would go with the fondant but would love to hear if anyone else has any other suggestions.

chellescountrycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chellescountrycakes Posted 5 Jun 2009 , 11:36pm
post #3 of 13

I did a coke bottle, it was only my second ever cake. (literly) and I used store bought frosting. I dont use fondant, and although my writing is crooked, I did write the coca cola. I was also using storebouht piping. It breaks easily and doesnt go on as well.

I literly found this place while I was making it. and didnt have viva papertowells, so I used computer paper instead. It would have worked great, but betty crocker BC icing is VERY greasy.
LL

shanna_banana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shanna_banana Posted 6 Jun 2009 , 12:08am
post #4 of 13