The Sturdiest Cake, The Best Bc, And The Foolproof Process!

Decorating By NewSleuth Updated 9 Jun 2009 , 4:25am by Kenzy

NewSleuth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewSleuth Posted 5 Jun 2009 , 12:34am
post #1 of 22

Hello All,

I am new to the world of cake baking and decorating. I am interested in expanding my expertise in cake baking and am having a hard time figuring out the perfect recipes and processes to prevent my cakes from weeping and buttercream from melting.

I recently was asked to do a baby shower cake and it was not as nice as I wanted it to be.

I made a 12/10/8 X 3 tiers of chiffon cake. I cooled them on a rack inverted, and had no issues with the cakes cooling. The batter stuck to the sides, although sunk in a tiny bit from the top. After the cakes were completely cooled, I removed the cake from the pans (luckily, I used removable bottom type pans). I then put the cakes w/o shrink wrap into the freezer for an hour or so.

I then took the cooled cakes and divided them into layers. I then filled the layers with swiss merigue buttercream and crumb coated them and put them back into the freezer to cool for another few hours.

I removed the cake from the freezer again and put a second crumb coat of buttercream. And put it back into the freezer, let the buttercream coat harden and then wrapped with platic wrap, and back into the freezer overnight.

I removed the cake from the freezer the next morning, let it sit at room temp. for an a half hour or so (while I rolled out the fondant) and it was still hard enough that I could still put fondant icing on it.