My Ri Is Not Shiny - Would You Help With This?

Baking By ZlatkaT Updated 6 Jun 2009 , 6:04pm by verono

ZlatkaT Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 11:36pm
post #1 of 12

Over two years I was using RI, and was happy with the taste and how fast it's drying. But now, when I saw how beautiful shiny cookies are here on CC gallery, I would as well get the "wet" look on my cookies. They always look prettier before the icing dry. After they dry, the are mat looking.
I am using this recipe: 4 C pow.sugar; 3 Tbsp Meringue (contains tartar cream) + water + extract.
Would extra tartar cream help to make it shiny; or what ingredient makes it? My cookies are dry after 4 hours, which I like!
Please help, how can I improve my recipe, or share yours. Thank you!!

11 replies
varika Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 11:44pm
post #2 of 12

I'm no expert on RI, but I just made my first batch of cookies iced with Toba Garrett's Glace and that has a nice shiny finish to it--and it was really easy to make.

ZlatkaT Posted 5 Jun 2009 , 2:34am
post #3 of 12

Hmm, there is no meringue powder or tartar cream in Toba's recipe - how long it takes the glaze to dry? Or dry enough to continue working??? It sure has the shine I am looking for. I am curious what makes the shine??

Bellatheball Posted 5 Jun 2009 , 3:01am
post #4 of 12

Add a little bit of corn syrup. icon_biggrin.gif

varika Posted 5 Jun 2009 , 9:54am
post #5 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZlatkaT

Hmm, there is no meringue powder or tartar cream in Toba's recipe - how long it takes the glaze to dry? Or dry enough to continue working??? It sure has the shine I am looking for. I am curious what makes the shine??

It only took about fifteen minutes for it to dry enough for me to move so I could coat the next batch, and to dry hard took a couple of hours. I did airbrushing and wrote the names on them with a food marker without disturbing the finish the slightest bit. See?

ZlatkaT Posted 5 Jun 2009 , 12:38pm
post #6 of 12