Red Food Coloring And Kids

Decorating By rexygirlcookies Updated 11 Jun 2009 , 5:02am by emlashlee

rexygirlcookies Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 2:53am
post #1 of 52

I had a client ask if it was safe to use red food coloring for her kids birthday party cake. She said at a few kids parties the moms have discussed problems with kids eating things containing red food coloring. I am new to decorating and have never been asked this before. I googled red food coloring problems and found some articles about hyperactivity in kids who eat too much red food coloring. Has anyone ever been asked about this before? We are doing a beach themed cake with all kinds of beach toys, I can avoid some red, but kinda anoying, lol! What would you do?

51 replies
scoobydid Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 3:06am
post #2 of 52

I don't think the FDA would have approved it if it wasn't safe. Now, whether or not it creates a negative reaction in children, well, it may be valid. I would take the client's sensitivity to the red into consideration when doing your design. Perhaps you can do some fondant accent pieces as opposed to a giant red crab, for example. Your job is to make a great looking and great tasting cake. You're not in business to police what these kids eat and what they shouldn't eat. If they have issues after eating products with red dye, they have parents who will just have to step up and well, parent.

A beach theme sounds like fun! So many possibilities. Enjoy.

aliciag829 Posted 4 Jun 2009 , 3:19am
post #3 of 52