Another "how Much" Question - Help Please

Decorating By mscrivener Updated 3 Jun 2009 , 7:12pm by cylstrial

mscrivener Posted 3 Jun 2009 , 2:46pm
post #1 of 11

Hi everyone. I am very new to cake decorating and I recently made a cake for a distant relative's twin boys first birthday (thats a mouthful). I made the cake essentially in trade since she is a budding photographer and had done some beautiful newborn portraits of my daughter at no charge. She loved the cake and a friend who saw a pic in my relative's blog post has asked if I could price making a similar cake for her... although I'm glad shes not asking for something free, I have no idea what to say. Any advice would be appreciated. The base was 12" and the top is 6" both were modified pkg cakes; all covering and decoration is MMF or 50/50 with gumpaste. I realize it is somewhat dependent on pricing in the area but there really isn't anyone in the area that seems to do cakes aside from driving to a larger centre about 1.5 hours away or the grocery store slab cakes. Any advice would be appreciated!

10 replies
mbt4955 Posted 3 Jun 2009 , 2:51pm
post #2 of 11

I can't help you with the pricing - I don't sell any of my cakes and you are way out of my league anyway icon_biggrin.gif - but I would like to say that this cake is amazing!! Welcome to CC and I think we will probably be seeing a lot of you!

cylstrial Posted 3 Jun 2009 , 2:53pm
post #3 of 11

That is so good! I love the way that you did the grass! I have never seen anyone do that. Is it just the little flower cookie cutter from wilton cut in half? Your creatures are amazing as well! I would say you should charge somewhere between 3.50 and 4.00/slice (people on here will probably say that's on the low side).

cylstrial Posted 3 Jun 2009 , 2:54pm
post #4 of 11

BTW, I can't believe you are new to cake decorating! That cake looks like a pro did it!! You must have A LOT of natural talent...or an art background!

yamber82 Posted 3 Jun 2009 , 3:10pm