Questions For A Simple Cake!

Decorating By NewBaker82 Updated 2 Jun 2009 , 9:27pm by Rylan

NewBaker82 Posted 2 Jun 2009 , 5:30am
post #1 of 7

Hello all! I am new to the whole cake making craze and I need some help. My daughter is turning 3 in a week and we are having a birthday party on Sunday. I made her birthday cake last year, a simple large sheet cake, it was ok. I have only made cakes from boxed cake mixes. This year I am going to do the same (cake from a box). I will be making two different cakes. The regular sheet cake and then a 10in round and 8in round stacked. My question refer to the 10in and 8in round cakes. While at the local cake supply store today I asked the owner for any advice. My thoughts were that the 8in round would sit directly on top of the 10in round. She said no, that I will put an 8in board under the 8in cake and use rods to support it. My questions are:
Do I have to do that?
Is it not possible to have my 8in sit directly on top the 10in?
What might happen if I do it that way?
I am looking for any suggestions or advice! The cake I am trying to make looks very simple. It's a Princess themed birthday. So on top of my 8in I am putting a Princess Crown, just to give you an idea of what I'm trying to do.
Please help, it's Tuesday and her party is on Sunday and I need to know what to do and what NOT to do!

Thanks in advance!

6 replies
__Jamie__ Posted 2 Jun 2009 , 5:38am
post #2 of 7

Unless you are Sandra Lee (joking!), yes you must put supports. That 8" will be heavy and will sink into the bottom tier, and you will have a wreck on your hands. Dowels, straws, something. Check out the forums in here and you'll find all sorts of advice. JanH may come along and post a list of helpful links...she keeps a whole list of them handy!

NewBaker82 Posted 2 Jun 2009 , 5:56am
post #3 of 7