White Spots In Frosting?

Baking By yazzie82 Updated 7 Jun 2009 , 4:17am by Amy729

yazzie82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yazzie82 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 7:27pm
post #1 of 10

I am new to cake decorating so i was wondering if someone could answer my question. I made some butter cream last night and i colored it pink and spread it on a cake last night and this morning i noticed little tiny white spots in my pink frosting like the color had vanished or something. Can anyone tell me what happened?

9 replies
renee2007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
renee2007 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 7:32pm
post #2 of 10

I'm not sure what happened but, I had the same thing happen to me. if you look in my pics it's the swamp fire ben 10 alien. I still don't know why it happened. I'm wondering if I just didn't mix the color in all the way or maybe my coloring was clumping up . not sure. maybe someone will know.

LKing12 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LKing12 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 7:39pm
post #3 of 10

This happened to me with my first few batches of buttercream. It is the salt. It has not been incorporated and is showing up as white spots. I do not use salt in my icing anymore.

Erika2000 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erika2000 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 7:39pm
post #4 of 10

Did you use salt in your buttercream? I always use popcorn salt and dissolve it first in the liquid before adding it to my buttercream.

yazzie82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yazzie82 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 7:52pm
post #5 of 10

I used the same recipe i always use. I don't use salt. I use vegetable shortening, powered sugar and mirargue powder. Well now that i think about it the only thing different that i did was this time i used strawberry extract. I usually use Vanilla or almond. the strawberry extract is immatation i don't know if that would have anything to do with it.

SINDIASSWEETTOOTH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SINDIASSWEETTOOTH Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 7:57pm
post #6 of 10