Stand-Up Chocolate Cake Recipe

Baking By ufgirl00 Updated 3 Jun 2009 , 2:16pm by bake-aholic

ufgirl00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ufgirl00 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 2:01pm
post #1 of 3

I am new to cake decorating and I want to make a penguin cake for my parents anniversary. I am using the mini stand up 3D bear pan and cutting it to make the penguin. I want to use a chocolate cake recipe. It asks for pound cake but I am not a huge fan of pound cake. Does anyone have a recipe for a chocolate cake that is dense enough for the stand up pan? Thanks!!

2 replies
isabow2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
isabow2 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 2:42pm
post #2 of 3

If you search for the word "durable" in the recipe section, you can find a chocolate recipe that should stand up well & can be carved.

bake-aholic Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bake-aholic Posted 3 Jun 2009 , 2:16pm
post #3 of 3

I have been baking for over 30 years and love this goldmine of a recipe. There are several variations one can make with this (see below). The texture of this cake is nice and dense-perfect when icing; it also tastes wonderful! I have used several variations-for weddings, showers, b-days, etc. I always get rave reviews. If you ever try the lemon variation, you can go to a cake specialty shop and pick up a sleeve or two of raspberry glaze and tort/fill with it; it's unbelievable! Good luck and enjoy icon_smile.gif

2 boxes white cake mix (I prefer Duncan Hines)
2 cups flour (or 2 c. + 2 TB cake flour)
2 cups sugar
1 ½ tsp salt
2 2/3 cup water
¼ cup vegetable oil
2 tsp real vanilla
1-2 tsp almond extract
2 cups (16 oz) sour cream
8 large egg whites

Place all dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl and stir together with a wire whisk. Add the remaining ingredients and beat on low speed for 2 minutes.

Bake at 325 degrees F until cake tests done.

{Makes about 13 cups batter; 40-50 Servings}

This recipe makes:
One 14 round and one 6 round or
One 16 round or
One 12 round and one 10 round or