What Happened?

Decorating By deelovlie1 Updated 1 Jun 2009 , 2:16pm by deelovlie1

deelovlie1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deelovlie1 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 4:18am
post #1 of 8

icon_cry.gif I tried stacking cakes after filling them I did a few layers and they slipped?? was I supposed to freeze them first? I am new to this but would like to learn how any advice please???? also what is torting a cake? Is that what I did? Thanksicon_smile.gif

7 replies
mommyle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommyle Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 4:26am
post #2 of 8

I would try to help more, but I really should be sleeping by now. ;
Search here for more, but first, read this. http://www.cakecentral.com/article49-Building-The-Cake-Combination-Pillar--Stacked-Construction.html
HTH

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 4:26am
post #3 of 8

No you don't need to freeze it before stacking it. What filling did you use.

I'm not sure if I can define torting well -- but in my words, it is cutting layers of cake where you will add filling.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 4:27am
post #4 of 8

Hi and Congrats on your 1st post, deelovlie1. icon_smile.gif

Everything you need to know to make, decorate and assemble tiered/stacked/layer cakes:

http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-605188-.html

A firm frosting dam helps keep the filling in place. But I've found the sleeved pastry filling usage charts very helpful in determining "how much" filling is enough without asking for problems... This info can be found in the above super thread, along with indydebi's thread on pastry filling usage amounts.

Torting is splitting a cake layer into two or more smaller layers (for peeps who love MORE filling). Otherwise two (intact) cake layers are sandwiched together (with filling or frosting) per tier. (See Wilton cake decorating links above for more detailed info.)

HTH

Edited to correct link. icon_redface.gif