Help! My First Carved Cake!

Decorating By ajjhmf Updated 5 Jun 2009 , 4:45am by paulstonia

ajjhmf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ajjhmf Posted 31 May 2009 , 6:13pm
post #1 of 8

My son's birthday party is coming up and we're taking him and 4 friends to see Night at the Museum 2. I thought it would be neat to make his cake like the talking Easter Island Head.

I've never done a carved cake before and am looking for all the pointers I can get. My thoughts are to have it lying down since I can't imagine it being sturdy enough to stand. Although if someone can point out a way to do that I'll try it. icon_smile.gif Anyway, I'll probably cover it with buttercream then with gray fondant I'll texture later.

Anyway, if anyone can give me some pointers, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks,
-Jenny

7 replies
varika Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
varika Posted 31 May 2009 , 6:22pm
post #2 of 8

Use a serrated knife, not a straight blade--I use a steak knife. You can mark out a profile with toothpicks and cut from pick to pick. It's easier to take away than put back on, so work your way in slowly. Stop and dust the crumbs away periodically.

Also, laying down ould be fine--there's any number of them laying on the ground on Easter Island, after all! And don't worry if it's a little "rough" in appearance to you--these things are rough-hewn stone, after all.

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 31 May 2009 , 6:24pm
post #3 of 8

I think a standing cake wouldn't be a problem. The only thing I would suggest is that you use dense cake such a pound cake. I also think that the papertowel method will be great for this one.

Sorry if I'm not much of a help. Good luck though.

mommytmk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommytmk Posted 31 May 2009 , 6:24pm
post #4 of 8

I like to use a pound cake recipe when I carve. It is very sturdy.

paulstonia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paulstonia Posted 31 May 2009 , 6:33pm
post #5 of 8