Red Chocolate

Decorating By yamber82 Updated 6 Jun 2009 , 12:50am by yamber82

yamber82 Posted 31 May 2009 , 4:34pm
post #1 of 14

i am doing a gread cap this week and wanted to try making the top out of chocolate. it has to be red though. i don't think i've seen red candy melts at the store and i have never done anything with chocolate before so i would loooove some advice. can i dye the chocolate?

13 replies
Anntee Posted 31 May 2009 , 4:36pm
post #2 of 14

Wilton makes red candy melts. icon_smile.gif

mbt4955 Posted 31 May 2009 , 4:38pm
post #3 of 14

You can color your chocolate, but you might need to buy the candy colors. I'm sure someone will pipe in ... I think you can use regular gel colors with candy melts, just not with real chocolate.

I'm actually expecting to see red and blue candy melts in the next few days since July 4 is right around the corner. I found lots of red and blue Wilton decorations yesterday. Not the colors (I'm looking for blue), but I was at WalMart. I'll try Hobby Lobby and Michaels this week.

DianeLM Posted 31 May 2009 , 4:40pm
post #4 of 14

Red candy melts are pretty common. Have you tried Hobby Lobby or Party City?

If you can't find them, get some red oil-based CANDY COLORING. Add it to your melted white chocolate. Be prepared to need A LOT of red coloring, although the color does deepen over time.

Don't use regular gel or paste coloring because they are water-based and will ruin your chocolate.

mbt4955 Posted 31 May 2009 , 4:40pm
post #5 of 14
Originally Posted by Anntee

Wilton makes red candy melts. icon_smile.gif

DUHHH, I knew that. I bought them last year for a graduation cake. icon_redface.gif Thanks, Anntee.

yamber82 Posted 1 Jun 2009 , 3:23am
post #6 of 14

i havn't looked at hobb lobby yet, but will. i have been sooo busy. i just looked at walmart and they only have brown and white. so are the candy melts not the same as plaino chocolate?