Cookie Experts, Please Help!

Baking By cutthecake Updated 9 Oct 2010 , 9:50am by noahsmummy

cutthecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cutthecake Posted 31 May 2009 , 11:48am
post #1 of 15

I never froze cookies before. Wha's the consensus on th best way to wrap, freeze and thaw?
What do you wrap them in? Zip bags or containers, or both?
Do you defrost in or out of bags and containers? For how long do you defrost? Do you defrost on counter or in refrigerator? For how long do you let them defrost?
Are the cookies really fresh-tasting after freezing?

How do you freeze the raw dough? I have the same questions about the dough....
Thanks for your input!

14 replies
cindy58 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindy58 Posted 31 May 2009 , 2:00pm
post #2 of 15

I'm not an expert, but when I froze finished cookies I put them in 9x13 cake pans with lids. Each layer was separated by wax paper. When I wanted to defrost them I put them on the counter and didn't open until they had time to thaw. I just gave them a couple of hours or even overnight to thaw. That worked fine.

I haven't frozen dough yet.

cutthecake Posted 31 May 2009 , 4:28pm
post #3 of 15

Thanks, Cindy58!
Does anyone else have any other tips or methods?

bakinccc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakinccc Posted 31 May 2009 , 4:46pm
post #4 of 15

I freeze dough all the time. I put a blob into a ziploc freezer bag and flatten it into a slab no more than about an inch or so thick. I usually thaw it in the fridge overnight then pull it out the next day to bring to room temp to use. Works perfect every time.

cookiemookie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookiemookie Posted 31 May 2009 , 5:28pm
post #5 of 15

I do exactly what backincc does.

One recipe of NFSC fits perfectly in the gallon size Ziploc bags.

I've been doing this for years with most of my cookie doughs. Works like a charm.