Fondant!

Decorating By DeniseFL Updated 31 May 2009 , 12:42am by DeniseFL

DeniseFL Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeniseFL Posted 29 May 2009 , 4:57pm
post #1 of 7

Hey people..
Please can someone tell me what is that I am doing wrong??
I can't figure out..(talking about the wrinkles at the bottom of the cake and uneven sides)
I've been decoraring cakes for over 2 years and only classes that I took were wilton..
It's not an excuse but This cake was the first after 6 months that I spent recovering from a surgery..
I feel so BAD when my cakes turn out like this that I feel I should stop decorating .. BUT I LOVE IT SO MUCH!

please tell me your oppinion..

Thank you all
LL

6 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 29 May 2009 , 5:04pm
post #2 of 7

Sometimes it helps me to put the cake on a board the same size as the cake itself, and then set it on something smaller than the cake board (for example, put a 10" cake and board on an upside-down 8" pan) so that the fondant will drape past the cake. Then I open out any folds as soon as I see them, but they're usually below the cake anyhow. Smooth it as much as possible, cut off the excess, dampen the edge and fold it under the cake board. Then I put it on a bigger board.

Those puffy sides look like air bubbles. Have you tried popping them?

And to cheer you up...most of us can't get a perfect bottom edge on a fondant cake all of the time. That's why we put ribbons around them or add a ball border, to hide an ugly bottom edge. It's just been done so much that it looks like a style.

chyana66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chyana66 Posted 29 May 2009 , 5:06pm
post #3 of 7

Hi DeniseFL,

Can you describe what your normal process is for frosting and covering your cakes? Also, what sort of fondant do you use?

artscallion Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
artscallion Posted 29 May 2009 , 5:17pm
post #4 of 7