Question About A Tip Size

Baking By ghammer Updated 29 May 2009 , 8:17pm by Honeydukes

ghammer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ghammer Posted 28 May 2009 , 11:58pm
post #1 of 10

Hello! I posted this same post in the "How Do I?" forum but people are reading and not responding so I thought maybe no one knew at the moment. I know there's few people who use this tip on cookies and maybe they might see this post here.

I bought a 1s tip today and tried using it for detail work on a cookie. I tried both glace and a RI recipe and both immediately got clogged. I don't think I even obtained a drip from the tip and I squeeze so hard I nearly busted the bag.

Can anyone please help me with tips and/or suggestions for making this work? I would love love love to be able to make use of this size.

I am only a hobby baker but really enjoy it and if there's anything that can make this easier I would like to know.

Thanks in advance,
Gia

9 replies
all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 29 May 2009 , 12:08am
post #2 of 10

Anytime I use a tip smaller than a 2, I squeeze the icing through a thoroughly cleaned (and sanitized and air dried (kept aside just for this purpose)) stocking....the support hose have a finer weave on them and make for really clog-free work.

hth

Misdawn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Misdawn Posted 29 May 2009 , 12:18am
post #3 of 10

definitelt sift your sugar before you make your icing. The tiniest clump can cause the biggest mess!

blondeez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blondeez Posted 29 May 2009 , 12:20am
post #4 of 10

I dont know but will give you a bump, so someone else may answer

ghammer Posted 29 May 2009 , 12:21am
post #5 of 10

Thank you for your replies. I will try the pantyhose trick I guess. Couldn't hurt to try!

I sifted the powdered sugar before making the glace and RI. I tried them at separate times and different consistencies.

HamSquad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile