Question About Tip Size 1S

Decorating By ghammer Updated 29 May 2009 , 2:38am by DitzyDame

ghammer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ghammer Posted 28 May 2009 , 11:14pm
post #1 of 11

Hello! I bought a 1s tip today and tried using it for detail work on a cookie. I tried both glace and a RI recipe and both immediately got clogged. I don't think I even obtained a drip from the tip and I squeeze so hard I nearly busted the bag.

Can anyone please help me with tips and/or suggestions for making this work? I would love love love to be able to make use of this size.

I am only a hobby baker but really enjoy it and if there's anything that can make this easier I would like to know.

Thanks in advance,
Gia

10 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 29 May 2009 , 2:03am
post #2 of 11

Is that the one that's like the little baby teeny tiny rose tip? It's fabulous for inscriptions & writing and scroll work & stuff like that. Is that the correct one?

You couldn't get anything out of it? Is it defective?

I keep a hat pin around to break up clumps or I seive my icing.

-K8memphis Posted 29 May 2009 , 2:06am
post #3 of 11

No no no no I was thinking of 101s I think.

I didn't sleep real good last night so I 'm kinda loopy but I don't think I've heard of a 1s? I couldn't find it on Baker's Ultimate but...what does it look like--could you hum a few bars?

Cheyanne25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cheyanne25 Posted 29 May 2009 , 2:09am
post #4 of 11

Are you talking about the tiny tiny circular hole #1 tip? I've found with it you're got to be 100% sure your icing is 100% smooth, and at a thin enough consistency that it'll go through. It's amazing for detail work, but can be a bit of a pain to work with for sure.

bbmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bbmom Posted 29 May 2009 , 2:09am
post #5 of 11