I'm New To The Nfsc, Please Help!!

Baking By umgrzfn Updated 28 May 2009 , 11:46am by bbmom

umgrzfn Posted 27 May 2009 , 10:15pm
post #1 of 12

Ok, how do you all get the cookies looking so good? I tried reading the forums, etc, but my questions are...do you use royal icing? If you do, doesn't it taste bad? Also, if you do use royal icing, I know how to outline and fill. If you use the glace, how do you get the watermelon to look like watermelon with the nice white and green outline...how do you get the football to look so perfect? I did make the glace and personally, I don't like it! WAAAAYYYYYYY sugary (if that's a word icon_confused.gif ) Is there something that is better and less sweet? I'm a diabetic and did make the NFSC with splenda..ok, ok, so mine weren't so "NO FAIL", but I used splenda..I didn't expect them to be perfect. I still would like to know (even if there isn't a less sweet glace) how you all do such B-E-A-U-Tiful jobs on your cookies!!! ANY help would be so much appreciated!
Thanks in advance!!

11 replies
umgrzfn Posted 28 May 2009 , 12:14am
post #2 of 12

ANYBODY!!! I always try to answer threads if I can help in anyway! I would so much appreciate some help from "cookie makers"!!!

SassySweetz Posted 28 May 2009 , 12:22am
post #3 of 12

I hope you get a response as I too would like to know this. I did make the NFSC recipe this week and they are so yummy!!!!! I'm about to make Antonia74's royal icing right now.....

Good luck!

KathyTW Posted 28 May 2009 , 12:25am
post #4 of 12

umgrzfn....I know for me the only way to do it is by PRACTICE PRACTICE PRACTICE! There are so many great cookie makers here on CC .. it's a little intimidating.

I absolutely hate the flavor of RI....unfortunately it makes pretty cookies! I use the Toba Garrett Glace more often than RI....but if it's too sweet for you then that won't work.

Just keep trying recipes and techniques, you'll find what works best for you the more cookies you make.