Newbie Buttercream Question

Decorating By frustratedbaker Updated 28 May 2009 , 12:19am by artscallion

frustratedbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
frustratedbaker Posted 27 May 2009 , 4:50pm
post #1 of 9

Sorry for the repeat. I have tried to search, also read about 15 pages of buttercream, read buttercream article but it is still not clear and as a newbie I hope you will be tolerant of my basic question.

i have made a buttercream to go between a cake layers and will be crumb coated and covered with fondant (ambitious I know icon_smile.gif) The cake will be served Friday dinner time. My butter cream is part cream cheese, part butter and icing sugar.

here is what i have learned
Can't put fondant in fridge.

Here is what I need to know....
Can I fill the cake on Thursday and crumb coat it on Thursday and then put fondant on Thursday knowing it can' t go in the fridge.

Or do I crumb coat on Thursday and put in fridge overnight to put fondant on Friday??

I don't want to give anyone food poisoning....but I am not sure if bc can be left out overnight covered with fondant if it have some cream cheese in it. Also made it with milk (liquid)

Any help would be appreciated.

Great site btw. I could spend all day here!!! So much knowledge and sharing. Love it.

8 replies
umgrzfn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
umgrzfn Posted 27 May 2009 , 5:04pm
post #2 of 9

Welcome to CC. Ok, there are some that will put fondant in the fridge. I have before when I have a big order (I just do mine out of my home). I try not to, BUT...you do what you have to. It was fine. But what is better is if you do crumb coat it on Thursday and place the fondant Friday. If I have time, that is what I typically will do. I'm sure you will get replies of how others do it. It really is personal preferance and making sure your cakes still have a good taste and stay moist!!
HTH

AverageMom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AverageMom Posted 27 May 2009 , 5:08pm
post #3 of 9