What Happened?

Decorating By pugmama1 Updated 27 May 2009 , 3:54pm by cakes22

pugmama1 Posted 26 May 2009 , 3:45pm
post #1 of 12

I was making a birthday cake this past weekend and wanted to try something different for my buttercream. I use butter and sweetex normally with water. This time I wanted to try a flavored powder coffee creamer mixed with water to see if I likd the taste. Well, it tasted great but the texture came out awful - like what you get when you use the new Crisco. It was sticky and wouldn't smooth well. What could have happened and do you have any ideas for using different flavors in buttercream?

11 replies
caincakemaker Posted 26 May 2009 , 3:56pm
post #2 of 12

ooh sorry, I have never used the coffee creamer but here is a bump for ya!

cakes22 Posted 26 May 2009 , 4:08pm
post #3 of 12

I'm no expert but maybe the prob was with the "powdered" coffee creamer. I have used liquid coffee creamer and have never had a problem. Maybe the water didn't dissolve the powder enough icon_confused.gificon_confused.gif . That would be my guess.

PinkZiab Posted 26 May 2009 , 4:10pm
post #4 of 12

I've never used coffee creamer (powdered or otherwise) in my buttercream (or even in my coffee for that matter lol), so I can't tell you what went wrong, but as far as flavoring buttercream, the sky is the limit! Extracts, oils, compounds, liqueurs, nut pastes, jams/jellies/preserves, fresh fruit purees, melted cooled chocolates... use your imagination!

Misdawn Posted 26 May 2009 , 4:14pm
post #5 of 12

You have to 1) use milk instead of water when using powdered creamer in your buttercream, and 2) heat the milk in the microwave and dissolve the creamer in it first for about 3 or 4 minutes before mixing into the buttercream. This should get rid of any grainy/ texture issues.

pugmama1 Posted 27 May 2009 , 4:37am
post #6 of 12