How Can I Politely Reject A Cake Order? (Long, Sorry)

Decorating By maryak Updated 1 Jun 2009 , 1:55am by mombabytiger

maryak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maryak Posted 26 May 2009 , 11:55am
post #1 of 44

I need help please. I have an order from a lady who refuses to look at my website to see my previous work. She has an image in her head which she can't explain to me and I'm only an amateur cake decorator. She's ordered cakes from established cake decorators and has previously complained about pricing and I know that's the only reason she's come to me. She wants me to do a realistic topper (which if she'd looked at my site would see that I don't do that) of a chef with checkered pants, but they're not checkered. (Yeah that's right, try to figure that one out.) She wants the topper to be triple the size of what I normally know how to make.

I took a sample of the cake in to her boutique this afternoon (something I charge other people for) and her and her friend tried it. Not to sound egotistical but I know my cakes are extremely moist and she turned to me and said "it's a bit dry, can you make it moister?" Then she turned to her friend and said "Isn't it dry?" Her friend's reply was "It's beautiful."

I really don't want to do this cake. She only gave me the go ahead this afternoon (it's Tuesday here) and wants the whole thing by Saturday, so I basically have 3 nights (I work full time) to make it all from scratch and all for a price that I know is way too low.

Does anyone have any polite ways of getting out of doing this cake. I really don't feel comfortable doing it and I know she won't be happy with it. Please help!

Thanks
Mary

43 replies
Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 26 May 2009 , 12:03pm
post #2 of 44

Whew............well you could say.......

#1~~~~"I'm sorry but after checking my calendar I find that I am not able to fit in another cake for that day"

or