The 3 B's - What's The Difference??

Decorating By lat1nacurv3s Updated 25 May 2009 , 2:17am by lat1nacurv3s

lat1nacurv3s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lat1nacurv3s Posted 24 May 2009 , 4:32am
post #1 of 10

Buttercream from scratch vs.
BEttercream vs.
But-R-Cream

Sorry, I know there's a large post about everything buttercream...but I just needed a lil clarification from you pros. Since I'm still totally new at this, barely torted, filled and stacked a 2 layer 9" cake for the first time today..YUPI!!

I found out that the Sam's over by my house would sale me a 28.5lb bucket for $34 of Vanilla But-R-Cream. I figured what the heck. If anything it's money well spent on saving time, and practicing decorating. I added 1/2 to 3/4 cup chocolate syrup though to 3 cups of But-R-Cream and noticed that the textured changed to a creamer one. So I wasn't able to get it to set like I see in cakes that seem to come out very smooth. You could see where I had spread the frosting, hmph.

Is this supposed to be expected to happen?
Is it cheaper going this route (buying already prepared bc)?
And does one of the 3 B's taste better than another?

Thanks!!!

9 replies
playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 24 May 2009 , 6:52am
post #2 of 10

Yeah, this is one of those subjects that can turn into a heated discussion, but here goes -