Full Sheet Cake Pricing

Business By maendings Updated 23 May 2009 , 1:38am by maendings

maendings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maendings Posted 21 May 2009 , 11:27pm
post #1 of 6

I'm new to this pricing thing; have given away too much stuff over the years! Anyway I'm getting more orders for graduation cakes and such and am not quite sure how to price full sheet cakes (1 chocolate, 1 white) so 2 12x18's. My regular plain sheet cake I have around $50 but for graduations there are more decorations; caps, scrolls, dolls etc. or making it a theme. Do I include all the plastic decorations in the original price or add it to it, do I charge for the large box I have to put it in? If the want a football design or whatever, do I charge more. Also most of my clients want Mousseline Buttercream because that's what I use at my son's restaurant and it's a little harder to decorate with it unless someone has some tips for me. Can you use edible paper on Mousseline? Thanks for all of the help. I really enjoy reading these forums and have picked up loads of help. My son says whatever I make on the side is mine so I am picking up clients through the restaurant.

Thank you,
Colleen aka Mom's Alternate Endings

5 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 22 May 2009 , 12:18am
post #2 of 6

Are you saying you sell an 18x24 (two 12x18's) for $50?? You DO realize that's 108 servings, right?

The box should be figured in as part of your cost. I can't imagine buying a cake and seeing a line on the invoice for "Box ..... $4.00". Kinda like buying a coke at McD's where the price on the menu board is $1.00 "...plus $0.10 for the cup".

I don't add the cost of the plastic decors .... again, this should be figured in as part of your cost. If your cake is priced right, then the two bucks for the plastic shouldn't be a big factor.