Once Sympathetic, Now Empathetic! (Long Rant)

Business By jadak Updated 25 May 2009 , 3:07pm by margaretb

jadak Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jadak Posted 21 May 2009 , 6:11pm
post #1 of 50

Over time, I've read posts on here where a cake decorator has gotten inquisitive emails from a prospective client only to have them not order once the price was quoted. I have always felt sympathy. Now, because it just happened to me, I truly know how it feels and have empathy!

My DD's school contacted me about a cookie bouquet for their centerpiece of their dessert table for a retirement dinner for their secretary. They just raved and raved about how my cookies look and taste (they know because I made a HUGE bouquet of 65 stars for Teacher Appreciation Week and only charged the PTO for ingredients. I donated my time because, as a former teacher, I know how hard they work and I was willing to make that donation to help them all feel special). They explained that they just really really wanted them and they knew it was short notice, but could I make a bouquet for next Wed.?

So, I asked 2 questions: 1. How many cookies do you need? and 2. What's the theme?

I got a response that flowers was the theme, but no amount of cookies needed. I was also asked for a quote (kinda hard to do when I don't know how many cookies I'm making!)

So, I emailed back and told her my prices for cookies (which is cheap compared to many of you, but I can not get any more where I live and people want to balk at what I do charge half the time!). And, I made up a number of cookies (3 dozen) and gave her a quote for that amount of cookies arranged into a bouquet and delivered. I explained that this WAS NOT her quote because I did not know her need yet, but it was a way for her to give the planning committee a ball park to see is a bouquet was within their budget.